What are chakras and why do I need to keep them healthy?

What are chakras and why do I need to keep them healthy?

Chakras are our own personal energy centers

What are chakras and why do I need to keep them healthy?

Chakras are our own personal energy centers located in various areas of our bodies. Everyone has them, and there are so many, it would be impossible to count them all. Entire books have been written about chakras – so this post is designed to keep things simple by just giving you an overview.

The word chakra comes from the Sanskrit word for “wheel”. Each chakra spins like a wheel, with its energy swirling around in a circular motion. Although they are constantly in motion, they are stationary within our bodies, never changing locations.

The seven primary chakras

We have a multitude of chakras throughout our bodies, including our hands, the soles of our feet, on our tongue and ears, and all around our auric field. However there are seven primary chakras that encompass nearly every aspect of our lives.

Every chakra has its own specific purpose. Here is a list of how the primary chakras correlate to our emotional needs.

  • 1st – Root Chakra (Muladhara): Safety, security, money, fear
  • 2nd – Sacral Chakra (Svadhishthana): Creativity, relationships, emotions, sex, shame
  • 3rd – Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura): Inner strength, self-control, instinct, anger
  • 4th – Heart Chakra (Anahata): Love, ego, trust, forgiveness
  • 5th – Throat Chakra (Vishuddha): Communication, speech, listening skills, clairaudience
  • 6th – Third Eye Chakra (Ajna): Vision, imagination, clairvoyance, connection with guides
  • 7th – Crown Chakra (Sahasrara): Wisdom, enlightenment, claircognizance, connection with the Divine

The diagram below shows the color associated with each primary chakra, and its placement within the physical body.

The seven primary chakras, their colors, and placement within the physical body

Additional chakras

Aside from the seven primary chakras, we also have four very important and vital chakras in our energy system. They are a bit lesser-known and don’t get as much attention as the primary ones, but they certainly have very important roles! These chakras are more spiritually-focused.

  • Higher Heart Chakra (Thymus): Compassion, authenticity, unconditional love, divine love
  • Earth Star Chakra: Grounding point for your complete chakra system, connection with Mother Earth and the entire Universe
  • Soul Star Chakra: Your higher conscious, higher self, soul knowledge
  • Causal Chakra: Your connection to past lives

Why keeping your chakras healthy is important

When a chakra is blocked or out of balance, it rotates more slowly. It loses its light and its energy level decreases. Think of your car’s air filter. When you’ve been driving around for any length of time, it starts to get contaminated – dirty, dusty, and full of pollutants. The harsher the environment, the quicker this happens! Chakras operate in a similar way.

Our chakras can become blocked or misaligned for various reasons. Usually it means that some unwanted energy has crept in. It could be from physical and environmental factors like air pollution, viruses and bacteria, or EMFs (electromagnetic fields). It might be in the form of an emotional situation like battling feelings of unworthiness after spending time with your in-laws. Have you ever been in a crowd and felt the energy from the people around you? You are probably absorbing that energy.

Chakra blocks can also form because of our own ego. We block our energy centers each time we experience human character traits and emotions like stubbornness, anger, fear, resentment, frustration, jealousy, grief… the list goes on ad infinitum.

Knowing how to shield yourself from these energies is important, but even people who have well-developed protection skills (hello, my fellow detached Aquarians!) can’t block out everything. Over time, our chakras absorb these unwanted energies and subsequently slow down and get mucky.

The good news is, we can do something about all of this!

Clearing your chakras

Regular clearing and alignment is vital to the health of your chakras, and therefore your own energy system. Hypnotherapy is an effective way to remove blocks and get your chakras recharged and restored to their complete, brilliant capacity again. When you work with a Certified Hypnosis Practitioner like myself, we will of course cover all your primary chakras, but you also get the benefit of customizing your treatment and concentrating on your unique, specific problem areas.

Healthy chakras = healthy mind = healthy body

When problems arise within your chakras, you will likely experience corresponding physical ailments. For example, one of my clients was having fears and insecurities about her ability to make money (Root Chakra). She was also experiencing inflammation in her lower spine, the same area where her Root Chakra is located. Those pains were very real to her, and her chiropractor had the x-rays to prove it. Using hypnosis, we worked on her specific fears about security, and cleared and aligned her Root Chakra. I am happy to report that her back is feeling better, and she has learned not to spend time worrying about the future of her career.

I certainly can’t promise you that hypnotherapy will net you a promotion, of course. I’m just using her story as an example of how hypnosis is a tool that can bring you real success for any personal goal.

Schedule a private chakra clearing and alignment hypnosis session with me online, or feel free to email me any questions you may have.

Jen Merkel Holistic Hypnosis and Wellness

One thought on “What are chakras and why do I need to keep them healthy?

Comments are closed.